SRSL - 2009


EACL : March/April 2009 : Athens (Greece)

home important dates committees contact registration programme

Call for papers

Papers are invited on substantial, original, and unpublished research concerning the semantic representation of spoken language.
They can be full (6-8 pages including references) or short papers (3-4 pages including references).

Possible topics include:
  • Corpus annotation: structures (frame-banks, proposition banks, etc.) and concepts (ontologies, named entities, etc.).
  • Content identification and segmentation in spontaneous speech.
  • Semantic interpretation in dialogues.
  • Dialogue and discourse structures.
  • Topic Detection and tracking.
  • Multimodal Representations including speech.
  • Natural language understanding and reasoning in spoken dialogue systems.
  • Speech in embedded systems.
  • Project descriptions about applications of spoken corpora semantic representations.
  • Standardisation work.
  • Interoperability/Comparison work of spoken and written corpora.
Submissions must be written in English and should follow the EACL2009 style format you can find here.
As reviewing will be blind, the paper should not include the author's names and affiliations. Furthermore, self-references that reveal the author's identity should be avoided. Submissions that do not conform to these styles will be rejected.

Submission will be via the Start system (available here soon). The only accepted format for submitted papers is PDF. Please remember that the paper submission deadline is December 19th, 2008.
Papers that are being submitted in parallel to other conferences or workshops must indicate this on the title page, as must papers that contain significant overlap with previously published work. Accepted papers will appear in the proceedings of the SRSL-2009.
Both full (6-8 pages) and short papers (3-4 pages) will have an oral presentation at the workshop within the framework of the EACL2009 conference in Athens (Greece). At least one author has to register for the workshop.


Chairs: Manuel Alcántara (ÖFAI-Vienna, former DFKI GmbH member)
Thierry Declerck (DFKI GmbH)
Endorsed by the NoE K-Space

(already confirmed) Scientific Committee